Fear Street on Netflix: RL Stine gets rated R in new movie trilogy

The three horror movies are set in 1994, 1978 and 1666.


The Fear Street books from horror author R. L. Stine are making a comeback as three Netflix movies released back-to-back. The ’90s series spanned more than 50 books, with the source material slightly scarier than Stine’s other popular book series, Goosebumps — and that’s reflected in what Stine himself describes as R-rated horror. 

Netflix dropped the Fear Street teaser trailer on Wednesday, showing a series of murders taking place in the town of Shadyside over a period of 300 years. Fear Street Part One: 1994 will launch July 2, followed by Fear Street Part Two: 1978 and Fear Street Part Three: 1666 on July 16.

“In 1994, a group of teenagers discovers that the terrifying events that have haunted their town for generations may all be connected — and that they may be the next targets,” Netflix said in the teaser caption. The cast of each film is different, but like the IT series we see the same characters (and their ancestors) at different ages. Leigh Janiak directs and co-writes the three films.

“Fear Street fans are in for a treat — and some major surprises,” says Stine in the press release. “Readers know that the book series is rated PG. But the movies are rated R. That means a lot more thrills– and a lot more terror!”

Read more: Every new movie and show on Netflix: June 2021

Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.