News

Twitter launches a new feature that lets you soft-block users



Sarah Tew/CNET

Twitter launched a new way to manage your followers list on Monday, following about a month of testing. The new feature allows you to remove people from your followers. 

In essence, this functions as what’s often called a soft block, meaning that removed followers won’t see your tweets on their timelines, although they will still be able to direct-message you. They won’t be notified of the removal, but they’ll also be able to follow you again unless you block them. 

The new feature is the latest attempt by Twitter to give users more control over their experience. Last week, the company announced that it was testing a new feature that will warn users when they’re about to enter a potentially sensitive conversation. It’s also happening at the same time as Twitch is adding features to try to prevent harassment

The soft-block option allows you to create some distance between yourself and another user without going as far as blocking them. It’s a less forceful way of limiting interactions with specific users, without drawing attention to it.





Source link

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.